Welcome to Association of Indian Institutes of Technology Alumni, Canada

Event Report - IITAC Annual Gala Event November 2nd. 2019

IITAC Annual Gala Dinner and Cultural Entertainment 2019 

Saturday, November 2nd. 2019

Payal Banquet Hall, 3410 Semenyk Court,

Mississauga, ON L5C 4P8

An evening that included meeting friends, delicious appetizers & dinner, live music, professional dances, door prizes, and much more

Distinguished guests included:

Mr. Saifullah Khan – Consul (Commerce) & HOC from the Consulate Generate India, Toronto

 Mr. Pramod Goyal (President Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce)

 Mr. Satish Thakkar (National Convener, Canada India Foundation) and

Mr. Sven Spengemann Member of Parliament for the riding of Mississauga-Lakeshore

The programme began with the playing of the Canadian and Indian National Anthems plus the singing of a Kannada version of O’Canada by IITAC Past President Mr. Vijay Aivalli & Archana Aivalli

This was followed by remarks from Mr. Saifullah Khan (Consul (Commerce) & HOC – CGI), Ashraf Ali (IITAC President), Shan Banerjee (Chair IITAC Conference 2020) and Mr. Sven Spengemann M.P.

A memorial to a departed IITAC Member Mr. Kadayam Lakshmanan was delivered by his IIT Kharagpur classmate and lifelong friend Mr. Utpal Banerjee.

A significant event during the gala was the signing of an MOU for collaboration between IITAC & ICCC. Remarks were delivered by Mr. Surinder Sharma (IITAC Past President) who had spearheaded the effort behind the MOU followed by remarks by Mr. Pramod Goyal (President-ICCC) and Ashraf Ali (IITAC President)

Exciting Entertainment Emceed by Surjeet included:

Regional dance Ganesh Stuti by Rohit Tyagi & Ananya Kishore

Melodious Bollywood Songs by Simrat Chhabra & Sharath Chandran

Marathi songs by Anuja Panditrao 

Oddissi Dance by Ankita Nayak, Payoja Mohanty, Shreeja Pattanaik and Simran Dhal of the Chitralekha Dance Academy

Lively dances – Bollywood & Bhangra,

Multilingual song by IITAC members  

1) Ragu Raghavan - Tamil 

2) Navin Chandra - Telegu

3) Piyal Sarkar - Bengali

4) Pratima Srivastava - Banarasi 

5) Vaibhav Sharma - Marathi 

6) Tarun Vasudeva - Punjabi  

The programme concluded with a vote of thanks delivered by Vishwas Dhekney (VP Admin – IITAC)

Link to pictures and videos

  All rights Reserved   Copyright  © 2014 IIT ALUMNI CANADA
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software